Main menu

Congressman Brad Sherman

Representing the 30th District of CALIFORNIA

17 Members Cosponsor Sherman’s Gas Storage Safety Act


Feb 12, 2016
Press Release

Sherman Oaks – Congressman Sherman (D-CA), who lives in the Porter Ranch community (site of the largest natural gas leak in history), announced that 17 members of Congress now support his Gas Storage Safety Act.  Sherman’s home is about as close as any residence to the leak, which has displaced over 6,400 families.

“I am glad that 17 of my colleagues have joined me in introducing legislation to improve gas storage safety,” said Congressman Sherman.  “My legislation is a backstop – if the relevant federal agency does not adopt regulations using its current authority, this bill will force them to act.”

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Pipeline Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) has established federal safety regulations for natural gas transportation.  However, PHMSA has yet to use its existing regulatory authority regarding natural gas storage.  The Gas Storage Safety Act would direct PHMSA to implement tough safety standards for natural gas storage facilities.

Among the 17 new sponsors of Sherman’s legislation are 15 members of Congress from California.  What follows is the complete list of the co-sponsors:


1.       Jared Huffman (CA-2)

2.       John Garamendi (CA-3)         

3.       Mike Thompson (CA-5)

4.       Doris Matsui (CA-6)

5.       Anna Eshoo (CA-18)

6.       Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)

7.       Sam Farr (CA-20)

8.       Julia Brownley (CA-26)

9.       Judy Chu (CA-27)

10.     Tony Cardenas (CA-29)

11.     Grace Napolitano (CA-32)

12.     Xavier Becerra (CA-34)

13.     Mark Takano (CA-41)

14.     Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)

15.     Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)

16.     Mark Pocan (WI-2)

17.     Raul Grijalva (AZ-3)