Main menu

Congressman Brad Sherman

Representing the 30th District of CALIFORNIA

Congressman Sherman Leads Bipartisan Effort to Fund U.S. – Israel Energy Cooperation


Mar 16, 2016
Press Release
135 Members of Congress Join in Funding Request for the Energy Cooperation Program with Israel

Washington, DC – Congressman Brad Sherman (D-CA) led a bipartisan group of 135 House members in a request of $2 million for the U.S.–Israel Energy Cooperation Program in the Energy and Water Development Appropriations bill.  

The appropriations request this year included the highest number of signatories – 130 members of Congress – since the creation of the program in 2008.

The program is designed to leverage matching contributions from the Israeli government. It also leverages investments from the Israeli and American private sector; thus, for every dollar Congress appropriates, three dollars are invested, contributing to the economy in addition to energy security.  Since its inception the program has received $27.4 million from the U.S. and Israeli governments ($13.7 from each government) and has also raised over $32 million from private sector investments.

“The U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperation Program continues to spur and advance new and innovative energy projects,” said Congressman Sherman. “This tremendous bipartisan support is a clear indication that Congress supports funding for this program from both sides of the aisle.  Two years ago the House voted to expand this program into water technology, an important area for California and many other states.  I will work with the Administration on further boosting funding for this program in future budgets.”

Congressman Sherman wrote the U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperation Act in 2005. Congress ultimately enacted the legislation as Section 917 of a larger energy reform bill, the Energy Independence and Security Act, in December 2007.   

The program funds research and development in energy technologies and energy efficiency in the American and Israeli private sectors. These projects include advancements in hydroelectric energy production, lowering energy consumption for water treatment, energy optimization for manufacturers, wind energy storage, reduced fuel consumption and carbon emissions for tractor trailers, and noise control for distributed power generation. 

See text of the letter below:

March 15, 2016


Hon. Mike Simpson
Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development
House Committee on Appropriations

Hon. Marcy Kaptur
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development
House Committee on Appropriations

RE: Support for U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperation Program

Dear Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Kaptur,

We are writing to request that the subcommittee provide at least $2 million for the implementation of the U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperative Agreement in the FY2017 Energy and Water Appropriations bill.  

This funding will be utilized to further implement Section 917 of the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, P.L. 110-140, and the May 2008 agreement between the U.S. and Israel on strategic energy cooperation.  As you are aware, Congress passed in 2014, and the President signed into law, the United States-Israel Strategic Partnership Act (P.L. 113-296).  Among other important provisions, the measure reauthorized the cooperative energy program through 2024 and expanded its mandate, covering collaborative R&D into renewable technologies, natural gas and water – key areas of interest for the United States.   

We greatly appreciate the support your subcommittee has provided for this program in the past.  The U.S. government has provided $13.7 million for the program since its inception.  The funding has been fully matched by the Government of Israel; this is not an aid program.  During the same period, the program has also leveraged over $32 million in private sector cost-sharing.

This program is an important tool in our efforts to achieve greater energy security and independence, and leverages small grant dollars to incentivize private sector innovation and new partnerships in the pursuit of a critical objective.  U.S.-Israel projects currently underway include advancements in energy production over water reservoirs, lowering energy consumption for water treatment, energy optimization for manufacturers, wind energy storage, reduced fuel consumption and CO2 emissions for tractor trailers, and noise control for distributed power generation.

Continued funding for the program will provide for collaborative U.S. and Israeli research and development efforts in areas critical to both the United States and Israel and unite our countries in the pursuit of increased energy security, energy independence and water efficiency – an issue of growing importance to much of the U.S. West and Southwest, and an area where Israel is truly the world leader.

Companies across the U.S. are working through this program to develop cutting-edge technologies with new partners in Israel in order to advance America’s energy security.  Furthermore, the U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperative Agreement facilitates greater cooperation and sharing of knowledge between American and Israeli universities.

Collaboration between the American and Israeli private sector and academia will significantly enhance U.S. efforts to develop new technologies to the benefit of our economic and national security.

We thank you for your consideration and for your prior support of this program and request your continued support for FY2017. 



Adam B. Schiff

Adam Kinzinger

Al Green

Alan Grayson

Alan S. Lowenthal

Albio Sires

Alcee L. Hastings

Ami Bera

Ann Kirkpatrick

Ann M. Kuster

Barbara Comstock

Beto O’Rourke

Bill Foster

Bill Johnson

Blake Farenthold

Bonnie Watson Coleman

Brad Ashford

Brad Sherman

Brendan F. Boyle

Brian Higgins

Carolyn B. Maloney

Cedric L Richmond

Chaka Fattah

Charles B. Rangel

Charles W. Boustany, Jr.

Cheri Bustos

Chris Van Hollen

Christopher P. Gibson

Corrine Brown

Curt Clawson

Dan Newhouse

Daniel Lipinski

David B. McKinley

David Loebsack

David Scott

David. N. Cicilline

Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Dina Titus

Donald M. Payne Jr.

Donald Norcross

Donna F. Edwards

Doris O. Matsui

Doug Lamborn

Earl Blumenauer

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Elijah E. Cummings

Eliot L. Engel

Elizabeth H. Esty

Eric “Rick” Crawford

Eric Swalwell

Filemon Vela

Frederica Wilson

Garret  Graves

Gene Green

Gerald E. Connolly

Grace F. Napolitano

Grace Meng

Gus M. Bilirakis

Gwen Moore

Hakeem S. Jeffries

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Jackie Walorski

James A. Himes

James R. Langevin

Janice D. Schakowsky

Janice Hahn

Jared Huffman

Jared Polis

Jeff Miller

Jerrold Nadler

Jerry McNerney

Jim Costa

Joaquin Castro

Joe Barton

John Fleming

John Garamendi

John K. Delaney

John Katko

John Larson

John P. Sarbanes

John R. Moolenaar

Juan Vargas

Judy Chu

Julia Brownley

Kathleen Rice

Keith J. Rothfus

Kevin Cramer

Kyrsten Sinema

Lee M. Zeldin

Leonard Lance

Linda Sanchez

Lois Frankel

Lorreta T. Sánchez

Marc A. Veasey

Marcia L. Fudge

Mark DeSaulnier

Mark Pocan

Mark Takai

Mark Takano

Martha McSally

Michael G. Fitzpatrick

Michael M. Honda

Mike Bost

Mike Coffman

Mike Kelly

Mike Quigley

Nydia M. Velázquez

Paul Cook

Paul Tonko

Pete Olson

Peter A. DeFazio

Peter J. Roskam

Peter T. King

Randy K. Weber, Sr.

Raul Ruiz

Richard E. Neal

Robert J. Dold

Roger Williams

Ruben Gallego

Ryan A. Costello

Sander M. Levin

Scott H. Peters

Sean Patrick Maloney

Sheila Jackson Lee

Stephen F. Lynch

Steve Cohen

Suzan K. DelBene

Ted Lieu

Ted Poe

Theodore E. Deutch

Tim Murphy

Tony Cárdenas

Tulsi Gabbard

William R. Keating

Yvette Clarke